ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History

The short version of cricket is getting more and more popular after each passing day due to its immense pace and excitement. The other very crucial reason for its popularity is that people do not have so much spare time to follow the test matches as well as the 50 over game so the cricket lovers consider this option as the best out of the lot which consumes lesser time and more entertainment. On 17 February 2005 Australia defeated New Zealand in the first men’s full international Twenty20 match, played at Eden Park in Auckland and as it was expected to be followed by the T20 cricket world cup soon or later.

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History


All eyes were fixed on this tournament as it was being appreciated all over the globe as well as in the stadiums by the cricket fans. All the international teams took part in the tournament which consists of 12 cricket playing nations. In the tournament these 12 teams are divided in to 4 groups each having 3 teams in it, this is called the group stages, after playing to each team in the respective groups the top 2 teams from each group qualifies for the Super Eight stage where they play each other once before the top 4 teams qualify for the semifinals and ultimately the 2 winners make their place in the Final of the T20 world cup. The very first T20 world cup was being hosted by South Africa is 2007 where all the teams played nail biting and exciting cricket throughout the tournament and the garnishing was an India Pakistan final, as it was being predicted it was a thrilling and evenly balanced match which after the up and down rides was being won by India and were being crowned as the first T20 world cup winners. The final was being played in Johannesburg pitted two old foes in which India claimed the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup after beating Pakistan by 5 runs.

After the huge success of the first season the second T20 world cup was also being arranged by the ICC and this time it was the turn of England to host the mighty cup in 2009. After passing all the group stages and the super Eight competitions it was Pakistan and Sri Lanka who got face to face in the final and Pakistan for the second time Consecutively found themselves into the final 2 of the T20 world cup but this time they didn’t let the opportunity to get slipped away from their hands and the final which was being played at Lords and saw the 2007 runners up Pakistan take on Sri Lanka. Pakistan made no mistakes the second time and round winning by 8 wickets. The third T20 world cup was being hosted by the West indies in 2010, after crunch matches and excitement prevailing it was England and Australia who made their way in to the finals which was being played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados and saw England win their first ever ICC trophy thanks to a thrilling seven wicket victory over their old rivals, Australia. Now all eyes are set for experiencing the fourth season of the T20 world cup which is to be started from the September 18th in Sri Lanka, where all the teams will fight for the crown and England will be defending it.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker